From war to the arts, JUSTICE events to have wide appeal

16 Oct


A series of events to be hosted by the Faculty has been announced for the “Securing JUSTICE at 60” appeal.

The JUSTICE all-party law reform and human rights organisation is hoping to raise £2 million by its 60th anniversary in 2017.

As part of the campaign, JUSTICE Scotland has launched a 2015-16 programme of events which is “designed to engage writers, film-makers, thinkers and social commentators in a dialogue about the law.”

Lord Hodge, the Supreme Court Justice, will chair each event, in the Faculty’s Laigh Hall.

On 20 November, the topic will be “Law and International Relations”, with a discussion on the tensions between law and war featuring General Sir Mike Jackson, Chief of the General Staff at the time of the Iraq war, and Sir Menzies Campbell, QC, former leader of the Liberal Democrats.

Next, on 22 January, Shami Chakrabarti, will look at “Law and Society” and discuss a lifetime of campaigning on issues affecting all members of society, with James Wolffe, QC, Dean of Faculty.

On dates still to be confirmed in spring and summer 2016, “Law and the Media” will feature Jon Snow, the presenter of Channel 4 News, and “Law and the Arts” will have a discussion on forensic science as portrayed in drama and literature, with the crime writer Val McDermid, eminent forensic scientist Professor Sue Black, and the renowned journalist Ruth Wishart.

Mr Wolffe commented: “The Faculty of Advocates is delighted to host the JUSTICE Scotland Beyond Law series.  These events should remind us that the law affects us all – that it matters to everyone - and they should have a wide appeal."

For more information go to

JUSTICE was founded in 1957 by a group of leading jurists to promote the rule of law and the fair administration of justice. It has grown to become the leading commentator on the justice system, and JUSTICE Scotland, formally launched as a branch in 2012, focuses attention on Scottish issues.

Patrons of the “Securing JUSTICE at 60” appeal include: The Rt Hon Lord Hope of Craighead, Sir David Edward, QC, Dorothy Bain, QC, Ruth Crawford, QC, Donald Findlay, QC, Derek Ogg, QC, Aidan O’Neill, QC, Anna Poole, QC, David Sheldon, QC, William Taylor, QC, and James Wolffe, QC.